Disabling User List in GDM (Gnome 3)

image_pdfimage_print

In a multi-user environment you really do not want a full list of usernames being displayed in the GDM login screen for security reasons. In order to disable this feature on my Gentoo lab systems running Gnome 3 and GDM I performed the following actions.

First delete the following file:

/etc/dconf/db/gdm

Then create the directory

/etc/dconf/db/gdm.d

Create a new file in that directory called:

01-mysettings

With the following content:

[org/gnome/login-screen]
banner-message-enable=false
banner-message-text=''
disable-restart-buttons=false
disable-user-list=true

Then create a new file:

/etc/dconf/profile/gdm

With the following content:

user-db:user
system-db:gdm

Run the following command:

dconf update

Then change over to TTY1 (Ctrl+F1) and restart GDM with:

systemctl restart gdm

Use (Ctrl+F7) to change back to the GDM login screen and you will notice that the user list is now gone. Each user will now be required to type their username before they are prompted for a password.

Reference:
How do I disable user list in GDM

  1. No Comments